Ulrich von Schroeder

North-Eastern India: Pala Schools 

During the Pala period, between the 8th and 12th centuries, the Buddhist monasteries of North-Eastern India were the most important centres of Mahayana and Vajrayana teachings. The universities included Bodhgaya, Nalanda, Vikramasila, and Odantapuri. These places not only attracted students from all over India and the Himalayas, but also from Tibet and places as far away as China. Missionaries to foreign countries and visitors on their way home carried not only manuscripts with them, but also statues of all kinds, in addition to paintings on palm-leaf and cloth. This explains the impact of Pala art styles in every country professing Mahayana Buddhism, including all the regions of the Himalayas and Tibet. As a result of the Muslims conquest, monastic Buddhism disappeared in Northern India at the end of the 12th century.

7

9

11

    The craftsmanship of the Pala artisans in North-Eastern India, especially during the 11th/12th centuries, resembles more the works of jewellers than the craft of metal workers. Among the statues of the Alain Bordier collection is a rare Buddha statue. This brass image represents an ancient replica of the most sacred Buddha image in the whole world – the stone statue of Buddha Sakyamuni inside the Mahabodhi Stupa at Bodhgaya (7). Prior to the Muslim invasion of Northern India at the end of the 12th century, this stone Buddha, dating from the 10th century, had been removed and was only reinstalled in the late 19th century. Between the 14th and 19th centuries a Burmese brick statue, erected between 1295 and 1298,  occupied the sanctum of the most famous existing Buddhist temple. This explains why numerous Tibetan and Nepalese statues and paintings depicting the Sakyamuni installed in the Mahabodhi Stupa resemble Burmese Buddhas characterized by broad shoulders and short necks.

    Another small brass statue represents the Buddhist goddess Mahasri-Tara seated in the “attitude of ease” (lalitasana) on a double lotus pedestal (8). She displays the “gesture of the wheel of the law” (dharmacakra-mudra) and is lavishly bedecked with ornaments. According to the iconographic compendiums, the Mahasri-Tara is the only Tara displaying this gesture. A more aggressive stance radiates from Acala, who tramples on the defeated corpse of the Hindu god Ganesa (9). Acala brandishes in the right uplifted hand the sword as symbol of “cutting through ignorance”, and holds with the left hand, displayed in the gesture of threatening, the noose, an attribute of mainly wrathful deities to catch the enemies of Buddhism. Also worth attention is a miniature stone carving of Kapaladhara Hevajra united with Nairatmya (10). This image depicts the sixteen-armed form of the Yi dam Hevajra, with eight faces and four legs, paired with Nairatmya.

     The art of Pagan in Upper Burma was very much influenced by the Eastern Indian art styles. In particular the the Pala workshops were closely connected with the art of Pagan during the 11th and 12th centuries. Although numerous crowned Buddhas are known in the art of Pagan, images inlaid to such an extent with silver and copper are rare (11). The differences in style between North-Eastern India and Upper Burma are not striking but rather indicated by faint distinctions. Especially the modelling of the head, the upper torso, and the short necks, are distinguishable characteristics. Another illustrated image of Sakyamuni was carved of a yellowish-beige stone known in Myanmar as andagu (12). This statue documents an early transitional phase in the development of the Pagan Style based on the traditions of the Eastern Indian Pala Schools.

 

 

7.  Buddha Sakyamuni. N.-E. India; Late Pala style: 11th/12th century

     Brass; hollow cast. Inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 18 cm

8.  Mahasri-Tara. N.-E. India; Late Pala style: 11th/12th century

     Brass; hollow cast. Inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 11.3 cm

9.  Acala. N.-E. India; Late Pala style: 11th/12th century

     Brass; hollow cast. Inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 12 cm

10.  Kapaladhara Hevajra. N.-E. India; Late Pala: 11th/12th century

       Dark grey stone (possibly phyllite). Height: 12.3 cm

11.  Crowned Buddha. Burma; Pagan Period: 12th century

       Brass; inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 11.2 cm

12.  Buddha Sakyamuni. Burma; Pagan Period: 11th century

       Yellowish beige andagu stone. Height: 9 cm

8

10

12

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest information on the museum and events that are being organized.
Logo MeG noir-blanc.jpg
Logo AMCF.jpg
VMS-AMS-Logo.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Ulrich von Schroeder

Nordost-Indien: Pala-Schulen

(Übersetzung aus dem Englischen: Sylvia Hobbs)

 

Während der Pala-Periode zwischen dem 8. und 12. Jahrhundert waren die buddhistischen Klöster Nordost-Indiens die wichtigsten Zentren der Mahayana- und der Vajrayana-Lehre, darunter Bodhgaya, Nalanda, Vikramashila und Odantapuri. Diese Orte zogen nicht nur Studierende aus ganz Indien und der Region des Himalaja an, sondern auch aus Tibet und dem entfernten China. Reisende Missionare und heimkehrende Besucher brachten Manuskripte, Statuen, sowie Gemälde auf Palmblättern und Stoff mit. Dies erklärt den Einfluss des Pala-Stils in allen Ländern, die sich zum Mahayana-Buddhismus bekennen, einschliesslich der Regionen des Himalaja und Tibets. Infolge der Eroberungen durch muslimische Herrscher verschwand der monastische Buddhismus in Nord-Indien am Ende des 12. Jahrhunderts.

7

9

11

   Die Metallarbeiten der Pala-Kunsthandwerker in Nordost-Indien, insbesondere im 11. und 12. Jahrhundert, ähneln durch ihre Feinheit eher der Goldschmiedekunst als dem Handwerk von Metallgiessern. Unter den Statuen der Sammlung Alain Bordier befindet sich eine Seltenheit (7). Diese Messingsttue ist eine sehr frühe Nachbildung des heiligsten Buddha-Bildnisses - der Steinstatue von Buddha Shakyamuni im Mahabodhi-Stupa in Bodhgaya. Vor der muslimischen Invasion in Nordindien am Ende des 12. Jahrhunderts war der steinerne Buddha aus dem 10. Jahrhundert entfernt worden und wurde erst Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts wieder aufgestellt. Zwischen dem 14. und 19. Jahrhundert belegte eine zwischen 1295 und 1298 errichtete burmesische Backsteinstatue diesen Platz im Heiligtum. Dies erklärt, warum zahlreiche tibetische und nepalesische Statuen und Gemälde, die den im Mahabodhi-Stupa aufgestellten Shakyamuni darstellen, burmesischen Buddhas ähneln, die sich unter anderem durch breite Schultern und verkürzte Hälse auszeichnen.

    Eine weitere kleine Messingstatue stellt die buddhistische Göttin Mahashri-Tara dar, die in der "Haltung der Gelassenheit" (Lalitasana) auf einem Doppellotus-Thron sitzt (8). Sie zeigt die "Geste des Rades des Gesetzes" (Dharmacakra-Mudra) und ist üppig mit Ornamenten geschmückt. Den ikonographischen Kompendien zufolge ist Mahashri-Tara die einzige Tara, welche diese Geste zeigt. Eine kämpferischere Haltung strahlt Acala aus, der auf dem Leichnam des besiegten Hindu-Gottes Ganesh steht (9). Acala erhebt mit der rechten Hand das Schwert als Symbol des "Durchschneidens der Unwissenheit" und hält mit der linken Hand in der Drohgeste eine Schlinge. Diese ist ein Attribut zornvoller Gottheiten zur Ergreifung der Widersacher der Lehre Buddhas. Bemerkenswert ist auch eine Miniatur-Steinbildhauerarbeit, welche den Yidam Kapaladhara Hevajra darstellt, in seiner sechzehnarmigen Form mit acht Gesichtern und vier Beinen, vereint mit seiner Gefährtin Nairatmya (10). 

     Die Kunst aus der Zeit des Pagan-Königreiches im oberen Burma war sehr stark von den ostindischen Kunststilen beeinflusst. Insbesondere die Pala-Werkstätten waren eng mit der Kunst der Pagan des 11. und 12. Jahrhunderts verbunden. Obwohl zahlreiche gekrönte Buddhas in der Kunst der Pagan bekannt sind, sind Statuen, die in einem solchen Ausmass mit Silber und Kupfer eingelegt sind, selten (11). Die stilistischen Unterschiede zwischen Nordost-Indien und Ober-Burma sind nicht markant, sondern zeigen sich eher in leichten Unterschieden. Insbesondere die Modellierung des Kopfes, des Oberkörpers und des kurzen Halses dienen als Unterscheidungsmerkmale. Ein weiteres illustriertes Bildnis des Shakyamuni wurde aus einem gelblich-beigen Stein geschnitzt, der in Myanmar als „Andagu“ bekannt ist (12). Diese Statue dokumentiert eine frühe Übergangsphase in der Entwicklung des Pagan-Stils, der auf den Traditionen der ostindischen Pala-Schulen basiert.

7.  Buddha Shakyamuni. Nordost-Indien; später Pala-Stil: 11./12. Jahrhundert. 

     Messing; einteiliger Hohlguss. Mit Einlegearbeiten aus Silber und Kupfer. Höhe: 18      cm

8.  Mahashri-Tara. Nordost-Indien; später Pala-Stil: 11./12. Jahrhundert.

     Messing; Hohlguss. Mit Einlegearbeiten aus Silber und Kupfer. Höhe: 11,3 cm

9.  Acala. Nordost-Indien; später Pala-Stil: 11./12. Jahrhundert.

     Messing; Hohlguss. Mit Einlegearbeiten aus Silber und Kupfer. Höhe: 12 cm

10.  Kapaladhara Hevajra. Nordost-Indien; später Pala-Stil: 11./12. Jahrhundert.

       Dunkelgrauer Stein (möglicherweise Phyllit). Höhe: 12,3 cm

11.  Gekrönter Buddha. Burma; Pagan Periode: 12. Jahrhundert.

       Messing; mit Einlegearbeiten aus Silber und Kupfer. Höhe: 11,2 cm

12.  Buddha Sakyamuni. Burma; Pagan-Periode: 11. Jahrhundert. Gelblich-beiger    

       Stein (Andagu). Höhe: 9 cm

8

10

12

 

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter, um die neuesten Informationen über das Museum

und seine Veranstaltungen zu erhalten.

Logo MeG noir-blanc.jpg
Logo AMCF.jpg
VMS-AMS-Logo.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram