Ulrich von Schroeder

The Kingdom of Nepal & Nepalese Schools in Tibet

The former kingdom of Nepal, nestled in the valleys on the southern side of the great Himalayas, is in many ways the passage between the hot, abundant plains of India in the south and the cold, arid desert plateau of Tibet in the north. Among Buddhists and Hindus, there existed a relatively peaceful co-existence of the manifold religious traditions. With the almost complete disappearance of Buddhism in India towards the end of the 12th century, the importance of Nepal, especially the Kathmandu Valley, as a vital centre of Buddhist studies and artistic production increased dramatically. The artistic traditions of Nepal, including architecture, sculpture, and painting, were strongly influenced by North-Eastern India. Of all the various crafts, Nepal achieved its greatest fame for its tradition of metalworking. In addition, from the 7th century onward, the Newars were the principal foreign craftsmen active in Tibet.

19

21

23

Among the Nepalese sculptures in the Alain Bordier Collection is a copper statue of the Bodhisattva Vajrapani dating from the 10th/11th century (19). Being subject to almost daily extensive ritual washing and handling in the Kathmandu Valley, a smooth surface is the result, and only few remains of the gilding have survived. In custody of a Tibetan monastery, a great deal more of its original mercury gilding and inset precious stones would have remained intact. This  applies also to the image of a standing Tara with a blue lily flowering at the left shoulder (22). It should be remembered that lotus flowers are exclusively the attributes of Hindu goddesses, and lilies exclusively of Buddhist goddesses. N.B. the water lily (utpala) is a flower of the night and related to the moon; whereas the lotus (padma) is a flower of the day and thus related to the sun.

    Another rare Nepalese statue represents Kubera or Jambhala. With the left hand he holds a mongoose (nakula) resting on the left knee. The mongoose is the jewel-spewing attribute of Kubera, Jambhala, Vaisravana and other deities associated with the cult of prosperity (24). The Newar were also great wood carvers, as illustrated by a delicate wood statue of Mahasri-Tara or “Tara of great fortune” (20). Although dating from the 15th century, a great deal of the original painted decoration appears intact.

    From the earliest times, Newars from the Kathmandu valley were active as traders and craftsmen all over Tibet. Often combining their specialized manual skills with trade activities, they were especially famous as metalworkers. The Manjusri in the “attitude of royal ease”, made of a gilt sheet of hammered copper, can be attributed to the Nepalese Schools in Tibet (23). Newar scholars also played an important role in the transmission of Buddhist teachings to Tibet. During the “second propagation” of Buddhism in Tibet, many Tibetan monks visited the monasteries in the Kathmandu valley, many staying for many years in pursuit of their studies.

    Increasingly from about the 12th century onward, Newar artists from the Kathmandu Valley were employed by the rulers of the Khasa Malla kingdom of Western Nepal, who had extended the territories under their control into Western Tibet (late 11th to mid 14th century). This artistic tradition is illustrated with the statue of a crowned Buddha Sakyamuni (21). Some stylistic features, such as the flowers above the ears, support this attribution. The workmanship of these statues reveals many similarities with works originating from the Kathmandu Valley, a characteristic that applies also to the paintings commissioned by Khasa Malla patrons (17).

 

 

19.  Vajrapani. Nepal; transitional Period: 950–1050 AD

       Copper with remains of gilt; hollow cast. Height: 41.5 cm

20.  Mahasri-Tara. Nepal; early Malla Period: 15th century

       Wood with original painted decoration. Height: 71.5 cm

21.  Buddha Sakyamuni. Western Nepal; Khasa Malla: 14th century

       Gilt copper; hollow cast. Height: 24.9 cm

22.  Goddess Tara. Nepal; transitional Period: c. 11th century

       Copper with remains of gilt; solid cast. Height: 24.2 cm

23.  Manjusri. Nepalese School in Tibet: 13th/14th century

       Gilt sheet of hammered copper. Height: 26.5 cm

24.  Kubera or Jambhala.  Nepal; early Malla Period: 13th century

       Gilt copper; inset with precious stones. Height: 20 cm

20

22

24

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest information on the museum and events that are being organized.
Logo MeG noir-blanc.jpg
Logo AMCF.jpg
VMS-AMS-Logo.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Ulrich von Schroeder

Das Königreich Nepal & nepalesische Schulen in Tibet

(Übersetzung aus dem Englischen: Sylvia Hobbs)

 

Das ehemalige Königreich Nepal, eingebettet in den Tälern an der Südseite des Himalaja, bildet in vielerlei Hinsicht den Übergang zwischen den heissen, üppigen Ebenen Indiens im Süden und dem kalten, trockenen Wüstenplateau von Tibet im Norden. Buddhisten und Hindus lebten hier lange relativ friedlich miteinander inmitten vielfältiger religiöser Traditionen. Aufgrund des fast vollständigen Verschwindens des Buddhismus in Indien gegen Ende des 12. Jahrhunderts nahm die Bedeutung Nepals, insbesondere des Tals von Kathmandu, als wichtiges Zentrum buddhistischer Studien und künstlerischer Produktion dramatisch zu. Die künstlerischen Traditionen Nepals, darunter Architektur, Skulptur und Malerei, waren stark von Nordost-Indien beeinflusst. Von all den verschiedenen künstlerischen Fertigkeiten erlangte Nepal seine grösste Bekanntheit aufgrund seiner Tradition der Metallverarbeitung. Darüber hinaus waren ab dem 7. Jahrhundert hauptsächlich nepalesische Newari als auswärtige Handwerker in Tibet tätig.

19

21

23

    Unter den nepalesischen Skulpturen in der Sammlung Alain Bordier befindet sich eine Kupferstatue des Bodhisattva Vajrapani aus dem 10. und 11. Jahrhundert (19). Da sie im Tal von Kathmandu fast täglich umfangreichen rituellen Waschungen und Handgriffen unterzogen wurde, entstand eine glatte Oberfläche, auf der nur noch wenige Reste der Vergoldung erkennbar ist. In der Obhut eines tibetischen Klosters wäre von der ursprünglichen Quecksilbervergoldung und den eingelegten Edelsteinen viel mehr erhalten geblieben. Dies gilt auch für das Bildnis einer stehenden Tara mit einer blauen Lilie, die an der linken Schulter erblüht (22). Hier sei daran erinnert, dass Lotusblüten ausschliesslich Attribute hinduistischer Göttinnen sind, während buddhistische Göttinnen mit Lilien dargestellt werden. Die Wasserlilie (Utpala) ist eine Blume der Nacht und mit dem Mond verwandt; wohingegen die Lotusblume (Padma) eine Blume des Tages ist und somit mit der Sonne zugeordnet wird.

    Eine weitere seltene nepalesische Statue stellt Kubera oder Jambhala dar. Mit der linken Hand hält er eine Manguste (Nakula), die auf dem linken Knie ruht. Die Manguste ist das juwelenspeiende Attribut von Kubera, Jambhala, Vaishravana und anderen Gottheiten, die mit dem Kult des Wohlstands in Verbindung gebracht werden (24). Die Newari waren auch grossartige Holzbildhauer, wie eine zierliche Holzstatue von Mahashri-Tara oder "Tara des grossen Glücks" (20) zeigt. Obwohl sie aus dem 15. Jahrhundert stammt, scheint ein grosser Teil der ursprünglichen Bemalung intakt geblieben zu sein.

    Seit Anbeginn der Verbreitung des Buddhismus in Tibet waren die Newari aus dem Tal von Kathmandu im Handel und Kunsthandwerk im Land tätig. Als berühmte Metallhandwerker kombinierten sie oft ihre spezialisierten Fertigkeiten mit Handelstätigkeiten. Manjushri in der "Haltung der königlichen Gelassenheit", hergestellt aus einem vergoldeten Blech gehämmerten Kupfers, kann den nepalesischen Schulen in Tibet zugeschrieben werden (23). Gelehrte Newari spielten auch eine wichtige Rolle bei der Übertragung der buddhistischen Lehren in Tibet. Während der "zweiten Ausbreitung" des Buddhismus in Tibet besuchten viele tibetische Mönche die Klöster im Tal von Kathmandu, und blieben dort auch über Jahre hinweg, um ihre Studien zu vertiefen.

   Ab etwa dem 12. Jahrhundert wurden Newar-Künstler aus dem Tal von Kathmandu zunehmend von den Herrschern des Königreichs Khasha Malla in West-Nepal beschäftigt. Sie dehnten die von ihnen kontrollierten Gebiete bis nach West-Tibet (Ende des 11. bis Mitte des 14. Jahrhunderts) aus. Diese künstlerische Tradition wird durch die Statue des gekrönten Buddha Shakyamuni illustriert (21). Einige stilistische Merkmale, wie die Blumen über den Ohren, unterstützen diese Zuschreibung. Die Herstellungsweise dieser Statuen zeigt viele Ähnlichkeiten mit Werken, die aus dem Tal von Kathmandu stammen, ein Merkmal, das auch auf die Gemälde zutrifft, die von Mäzenen aus Khasha Malla in Auftrag gegeben wurden (17).

 

 

19.  Vajrapani. Nepal; Übergangszeit: 950-1050 u.Z.

       Kupfer mit Resten von Vergoldung; Hohlguss. Höhe: 41,5 cm

20.  Mahashri-Tara. Nepal; frühe Malla-Periode: 15. Jahrhundert.

       Holz mit original bemaltem Dekor. Höhe: 71,5 cm

21.  Buddha Shakyamuni. West-Nepal; Khasha Malla: 14. Jahrhundert. 

        Vergoldetes Kupfer; Hohlguss. Höhe: 24,9 cm

22.  Gottheit Tara. Nepal; Übergangszeit: ca. 11. Jahrhundert.

       Kupfer mit Resten von Vergoldung; massiv gegossen. Höhe: 24,2 cm

23.  Manjushri. Tibet; nepalesische Schule: 13./14 Jahrhundert.

       Vergoldetes Blech aus gehämmertem Kupfer. Höhe: 26,5 cm

24.  Kubera oder Jambhala.  Nepal; frühe Malla-Periode: 13. Jahrhundert. 

        Vergoldetes Kupfer. Mit eingelegten Edelsteinen. Höhe: 20 cm

20

22

24

 

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter, um die neuesten Informationen über das Museum

und seine Veranstaltungen zu erhalten.

Logo MeG noir-blanc.jpg
Logo AMCF.jpg
VMS-AMS-Logo.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram