1

3

5

Ulrich von Schroeder

North-Western India: Swat and Kashmir Regions

The oldest Buddhist statues in the Alain Bordier Collection date from the 6th/7th centuries and originate from the North-Western part of the Indian subcontinent, in particular the greater Swat and Kashmir regions. Most prominent among these objects is an unusual large brass image from the greater Swat region representing an ascetic form of Avalokitesvara (1). Another highlight is a brass statue of the type of Buddhist Bodhisattva identified as “pensive form of Avalokitesvara” (2). For this kind of gesture displayed with the right hand, no textual reference has yet been found. Nevertheless, the undoubtedly pensive and perhaps sorrowful mood may perhaps depict the Bodhisattva as the “lord of great compassion” (mahakarunika). The “pensive gesture” is also associated with a meditating form of Avalokitesvara. Presumably indebted to Greco-Roman influence, this type of Bodhisattva manifested itself on the Indian subcontinent for the first time during the Kusana dynasty (1st–3rd century AD) in the art of Gandhara, and also in Mathura. The iconographic type of Bodhisattva images displaying the “pensive gesture” spread from India to China and further to Korea and Japan.

    Some of the most refined Buddhist sculptures originating from North-Western India can be attributed to the Patola-Sahi, a kingdom that flourished between the 6th and 8th centuries, and whose territories comprised the Gilgit area in Northern Pakistan (3). Depicted is a crowned Buddha Sakyamuni displaying the “gesture of the wheel of the doctrine” (dharmacakra-mudrå). According to the dated dedicatory Sarada inscription, this image was donated in the year 54 of the Laukika era, which is equal to the year 78/9 of an unknown century. Compared with other published statues, the most probable date could be: 624/25 + 54 = 678/ 9.

    The valley of Kashmir, located in the north-western part of the Indian subcontinent, represents another region with a long tradition of Buddhism. Among the illustrated statues is a small representation of Buddha seated in the diamond attitude and displaying the “gesture of the wheel of the law” (4). The shining surface of the metal is the result of extensive ritual worship by successive generations of Buddhist monks in India and Tibet. The stylistic and technical characteristic of this Buddha image point to the Kashmir area as the location of manufacture and dates from the first half of the 8th century.

Most common among the metal statues originating from North-Western India are representations of Buddhas and Bodhisattvas. Female representations such as the depicted “green Tara” (5) were more popular in the adjoining areas of Western Tibet. The donor kneeling in adoration beside the pedestal might depict a Tibetan patron who commissioned this image from a Kashmiri craftsman.

    In modern literature it has become the custom to identify Buddha images seated with both legs pendant (bhadrasana) and displaying the “gesture of the wheel of the doctrine” as Buddha Maitreya, the “future Buddha” (6). However, as indicated by other Buddha statues, such images may as well commemorate the first sermon of the historical Buddha Sakyamuni at Sarnath. Confirmed by Chinese translations of Indian Sanskrit sadhanas, the Stupa is one of the principal emblems of Maitreya. Yet the Stupa crowning the nimbus of the illustrated Buddha image is not a proof that this image represents Maitreya beyond a doubt. Rather, as illustrated by countless Kashmir images of different iconographies, this feature is not restricted to representations of Maitreya only.

 

 

1.  Avalokitesvara Padmapani. N.-W. India; Swat: 7th century

     Brass; hollow cast; inlaid with silver. Height: 23.5 cm

2.  Pensive Avalokitesvara. N.-W. India; Gupta Style: 6th century

     Brass; hollow cast. Height: 14.5 cm

3.  Crowned Buddha. N.-W. India; Gilgit: dated 678/679 AD

     Brass; inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 22 cm

4.  Buddha Sakyamuni. N.-W. India; Kashmir: 700–750 AD

     Brass; inlaid with silver. Height: 12 cm

5.  Syama-Tara. N.-W. India; Kashmir: ca. 10th century

     Brass; hollow cast. Height: 14.5 cm

6.  Maitreya or Sakyamuni. N.-W. India; Kashmir: 9th/10th century

      Brass; inlaid with silver and copper. Height: 15.9 cm

2

4

6

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest information on the museum and events that are being organized.
Logo MeG noir-blanc.jpg
Logo AMCF.jpg
VMS-AMS-Logo.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

1

3

5

Ulrich von Schroeder

Nordwestliches Indien: Swat- und Kaschmir-Regionen

(Übersetzung aus dem Englischen: Sylvia Hobbs)

Die ältesten buddhistischen Statuen der Sammlung Alain Bordier sind aus dem 6./7. Jahrhundert datiert und stammen aus dem nordwestlichen Teil des indischen Subkontinents, insbesondere aus dem Grossraum Swat und Kaschmir. Das auffälligste dieser Objekte ist ein ungewöhnlich grosses Messingbildnis aus der Grossregion Swat, das eine asketische Form des buddhistischen Bodhisattva Avalokiteshvara repräsentiert (1). Einen weiteren Höhepunkt bildet eine Messingstatue, die als "nachdenkliche Form der Avalokiteshvara" (2) bezeichnet wird. Für diese charakteristische Geste mit der rechten Hand wurde bislang kein Textbezug gefunden. Dennoch könnte der zweifellos nachdenkliche und vielleicht melancholische Ausdruck den Bodhisattva vielleicht als "Herrn des grossen Mitgefühls" (Mahakarunika) darstellen. Die "nachdenkliche Geste" wird auch mit einer meditierenden Form des Avalokiteshvara in Verbindung gebracht. Vermutlich dem griechisch-römischen Einfluss geschuldet, erscheint dieser Bodhisattva-Typus auf dem indischen Subkontinent zum ersten Mal während der Kushana-Dynastie (1.-3. Jh. n. Chr.) in der Kunst Gandharas und auch in Mathura. Der ikonographische Typus der Bodhisattva-Bildnisse mit der "nachdenklichen Geste" verbreitete sich von Indien bis China und weiter nach Korea und Japan.

    Einige der raffiniertesten buddhistischen Skulpturen, die aus Nordwest-Indien stammen, können dem Königreich Patola-Shahi zugeschrieben werden, das zwischen dem 6. und 8. Jahrhundert seine Blüte hatte und dessen Territorium das Gebiet von Gilgit im Norden Pakistans umfasste (3). Abgebildet ist ein gekrönter Buddha Shakyamuni, der die "Geste des Rades der Lehre" (Dharmacakra-Mudra) zeigt. Laut der datierten Widmungsinschrift in Sharada-Schrift wurde dieses Bildnis im Jahr 54 der Laukika-Ära gestiftet, was dem Jahr 78/9 eines unbekannten Jahrhunderts entspricht. In Bezugnahme auf andere veröffentlichte Statuen könnte das wahrscheinlichste Datum sein: 624/25 + 54 = 678/ 9.

    Das Tal von Kaschmir, im nordwestlichen Teil des indischen Subkontinents gelegen, ist eine weitere Region mit einer langen Tradition des Buddhismus. Unter den abgebildeten Statuen befindet sich eine kleine Darstellung des Buddha, in der er in der Diamanthaltung sitzt und die "Geste des Rades des Gesetzes" (4) zeigt. Die glänzende Oberfläche des Metalls ist das Ergebnis ausgiebiger ritueller Verehrung durch aufeinanderfolgende Generationen buddhistischer Mönche in Indien und Tibet. Die stilistischen und technischen Merkmale dieses Buddha-Bildnisses weisen zeitlich auf die erste Hälfte des 8. Jahrhundert und die Region Kaschmir als Herstellungsort hin.

Unter den aus Nordwest-Indien stammenden Metallstatuen sind vor allem Darstellungen von Buddhas und Bodhisattvas verbreitet. Weibliche Gottheiten wie die "grüne Tara" (5) waren eher in den angrenzenden Gebieten West-Tibets beliebt. Der in Verehrung neben dem Sockel kniende Mann könnte den tibetischen Gönner darstellen, der diese Statue bei einem Handwerker aus Kaschmir in Auftrag gab.

    Bildnisse, die Buddha sitzend mit „hängenden“ Beinen (Bhadrasana) darstellen und in denen er  die "Geste des Rades der Lehre" zeigt, werden in der modernen Literatur üblicherweise als Buddha Maitreya, den "zukünftigen Buddha", identifiziert (6). Wie aber andere Buddha-Statuen dokumentieren, könnten so bezeichnete Bildnisse ebenso gut den historischen Buddha Shakyamuni während seiner ersten Predigt in Sarnath darstellen. Gemäss chinesischer Übersetzungen der indischen Sanskrit-Sadhanas ist der Stupa eines der wichtigsten Embleme des Maitreya. Dennoch ist der Stupa, der den Nimbus der Buddha-Statue krönt, kein eindeutiger Beweis dafür, dass es sich hier um Maitreya handelt. Denn wie unzählige unterschiedliche Ikonographien aus Kaschmir zeigen, ist dieses Merkmal nicht ausschliesslich auf Darstellungen des Maitreya beschränkt.

1.  Avalokiteshvara Padmapani. Nordwest-Indien; Swat: 7. Jahrhundert.

     Messing; Hohlguss. Mit Silber eingelegt. Höhe: 23,5 cm

2.  Nachdenklicher Avalokiteshvara. Nordwest-Indien; Gupta-Stil: 6. Jahrhundert

     Messing; Hohlguss. Höhe: 14,5 cm

3.  Gekrönter Buddha. Nordwest-Indien; Gilgit: datiert 678/679 n. Chr.

     Messing; mit Einlegearbeiten aus Silber und Kupfer. Höhe: 22 cm

4.  Buddha Shakyamuni. Nordwest-Indien; Kaschmir: 700-750 n. Chr.

     Messing; mit Silber eingelegt. Höhe: 12 cm

5.  Shyama Tara. Nordwest-Indien; Kaschmir: ca. 10. Jahrhundert.

     Messing; Hohlguss. Höhe: 14,5 cm

6.  Maitreya oder Shakyamuni. Nordwest-Indien; Kaschmir: 9./10. Jahrhundert.

      Messing; mit Einlegearbeiten aus Silber und Kupfer. Höhe: 15,9 cm

2

4

6

 

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter, um die neuesten Informationen über das Museum

und seine Veranstaltungen zu erhalten.

Logo MeG noir-blanc.jpg
Logo AMCF.jpg
VMS-AMS-Logo.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram